RSS

Dreams Vs Plans

21 Jul

We all have dreams, wanting to follow our parents wishes, wanting to start up business in areas of interest, falling in love, wanting to get married have children, moving into a permanent non-rental house, winning the lottery, buying that car of your dreams, the list could be quite endless. These are all wishes that we would like to accomplish but the plans as we grow change irrevocably. I wanted to put up billboards and have them rented out. Well, where that plan ended one wonders. I then had the dream of wanting to put up a chocolate factory, I had all the laid out plans..that also fizzled out. A smart sister of mine then tells me to write down all the dreams and Plans I had, if they are feasible, they can be worked on.

Of course my plans are feasible….see,
1. BillBoards
2. Chocolate Factory
3. Cake and Coffee Restaurant
4. Coffee Bar
5. Just a Bar
6. String of Coffee shops with Supermarkets on all up country routes
7. Cupcake Shop (this is a combined idea)

Now here I am, hoping to have at least fulfilled part of these dreams…but to look at this at a glance, any romantic heart could ask, where in those plans do I have time for myself. Well- I also realised that. But on my defence, my time is best spent around doing things that I love. I will gain satisfaction from attaining my passion, but in the eventuality that romance finds itself en route, I shall not say no to it provided that it is there to compliment what it will find and not aim to create something completely new and baffling.

Well then, i pose the question to you. “what are your dreams and how do they measure against your plans?” Are your dreams inspiring and fun? Will they make you happy? Will they lead you to reaching that long list you have written out to achieve? Have you budgeted for obstacles that may stand in your way? Have you created solutions to counter the obstacles?

Even as i write this, i understand that our Dreams and Plans are intertwined and do go hand in hand. What we fail to listen to how they measure in the real world. We also fail to put a timetable on them hence we keep procrastinating. How will we keep track that we have failed? We should not lie to ourselves that just because we have not yet done the dream means we still have the opportunity to attain it.If we put a limit to at what point in life we should have attained the dream, then we can be able to count ourselves as successful. I count myself as unsuccessful in wanting to put up billboards, because at the time i thought of starting the business, there were few billboard signs around town and it wasn’t expensive to own one. Now, it is just almost impossible as most of the signage is owned by advertising companies. I do hope to attain the rest though. I have a plan against the dream.

 

 

Leave a comment